Dean

The Dean has overall responsibility for the Graduate School and all PhD programs (currently only one) within the Graduate School. He is responsible for the overall strategic direction of the IST Austria Graduate School, and for mediating and making final decisions in all exceptional requests relating to students or their training. Examples of issues that require the Dean’s approval include change in supervisor, application for an external co-supervisor, or the approval of extension to examination deadlines.

The Dean is currently Nick Barton (nick.barton@ist.ac.at).

 


PhD Program Chair

The Program Chair is in charge of all matters relating to the PhD curriculum. In case a student would like to perform a 4th or a 5th rotation, if clarification on the interpretation of PhD program rules is needed, or if there are any exceptional requests pertaining to the PhD program requirements, the Program Chair’s approval is required.

The current Program Chair is Gasper Tkacik (gasper.tkacik@ist.ac.at).


Track Reps

There are six tracks, or discipline areas, in the PhD program: Biology, Computer Science, Data Science & Scientific Computing, Mathematics, Neuroscience, and Physics. A Track Representative, or “Track Rep” for short, is responsible for each subject area and helps develop the curriculum for that given track.
Students who plan to take courses within a particular track should consult the respective Track Rep to help decide which courses are the most suitable for the research area they wish to specialize in. This meeting should take place at the beginning of the academic year before the start of the first semester. Further information about Track Rep meeting times and office hours will be disseminated on orientation day.

The Track Reps for the academic year 2017-18 are:

Track Track Rep Contact Details
Biology Eva Benkova eva.benkova@ist.ac.at
Computer Science Krishnendu Chatterjee krishnendu.chatterjee@ist.ac.at
Data Science & Scientific Computing Gasper Tkacik gasper.tkacik@ist.ac.at
Mathematics Uli Wagner uli.wagner@ist.ac.at
Neuroscience Ryuichi Shigemoto ryuichi.shigemoto@ist.ac.at
Physics Maksym Serbyn maksym.serbyn@ist.ac.at

Faculty

For a full list of faculty, please consult the section “Research Groups“.

Back To Top